Options

Starting the 70-462 today

AvgITGeekAvgITGeek Member Posts: 342 ■■■■□□□□□□
My background: I was certified under SQL Server 7.0 and was supporting a small ERP system in SQL Server 2000 for many years. I started studying for the 462 several years back but never took the exam. Now that I've changed jobs and have a couple of clients running SQL Server 2005 and 2008R2, I figured this should be the next certification to tackle being that most of the advanced features covered by 412 are being taken care of by non-MS solutions by our clients. I'll more than likely circle back and hit the 412 at some point.

I'm creating my lab environment in Hyper-V. 1 DC, 4 SQL Servers and a SQL Server Core installation.

The challenging part is throwing in the 2014 material into the mix. I'm wondering if I should only install SQL Server 1014 on all of my VMs or create a new VM with SQL 2014? Looks like not that much material has changed on the exam.

Any advice?

Comments

• Options
    adam9870adam9870 Member Posts: 53 ■■■□□□□□□□
    At the beginning, install one or two virtual machine with SQL Server 2014 SP2.
    On the occasion of topics such as failover clustering you install next machines.
  • Options
    Thanks. Failover seems to be the biggest change. Maybe I'll go with 2012 for 2 Vms and 2014 on 2 Vms.
  • Options
    adam9870adam9870 Member Posts: 53 ■■■□□□□□□□
    For learn failover I used three or four virtual machines with Windows Server 2012 R2 and SQL Server 2014 SP2 and I Passed 70-462. I used this tutorial: https://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/31604.sql-server-2014-step-by-step-guide-to-setup-a-failover-cluster-virtual-lab.aspx

For 60-70% of Traing Kit will enough one virtual machine, maybe with two instances of SQL Server.
  • Options
    clarkincnetclarkincnet Member Posts: 256 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Good luck!