Help needed with possible DDoS

JSNJSN Member Posts: 56 ■■■□□□□□□□
So I'm noticing some odd slowness on my network, despite the fact that there has been some work being done in the area for another ISP. Running the netstat command came up with a lot of incoming addresses on my network. I am not very experienced so I am not sure if I am being attacked or not, or at this point how to mitigate this.
Any help would be much appreciated

Comments

• p@r0tuXusp@r0tuXus Member Posts: 532 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yep. Looks like the problem is quite obvious. You see, it's all upside down. Heh.
    Completed: ITIL-F, A+, S+, CCENT, CCNA R|S
    In Progress: Linux+/LPIC-1, Python, Bash
    Upcoming: eJPT, C|EH, CSA+, CCNA-Sec, PA-ACE
  • JSNJSN Member Posts: 56 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Is this machine behind a router?
    Yes, just a typical home router access from my laptop.
  • PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Open up resource monitor and see which processes are using the most traffic.
    Open up resource monitor and see which processes are using the most traffic.

Seems to be resolved now, do you have any advice on how to mitigate attacks in the future? I renewed and released the DHCP and tried changing my IP on windows. I'm not really sure how to comprehend that traffic either, I just know there were a few bouts of slow internet.
  • PJ_SneakersPJ_Sneakers Member Posts: 884 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Its probably not a DOS. If it's anything malicious it'd probably be malware. But it's likely to be a Windows process too, or Dropbox, or any number of other things. Nail down which process it is, and research it.
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I would agree with PJ_Sneakers - it is not likely a DOS attack. I've actually seen this before but I just don't recall the circumstance or scenario.