Passed CISSP (2nd Time)

JohnjaplinJohnjaplin Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just finished the exam 5 hours and 5 minutes and I still cannot believe I passed this exam. This is my very first post on techexam and I feel like I owe an obligation to this community for all the help/tips that made me pass this exam. I'm beyond exhausted, as I work night shift and the testing center only provides the test at 10 AM, so expect some errors in this post heh.... However I will try my best to help people achieve their goals as this was a goal for me.

For starters: I have 6 years of experience in the following roles Sr. RMF assessment engineer, Vulnerability Analyst, and lastly Sr. Cyber Threat Analyst for the DOD and DHS. This exam was a goal of mine ever since I started doing IT, and I was arrogant/foolish enough to think that I could pass this exam within a 1 month. All in all I studied for about 2 and half months the grind was real....

First time I failed: I got a 625 the first time I attempted this exam in 2 hours by only studying 11th hour (skimmed through it), and cybrary.it (Yeah I know, what was a I thinking) within the first 5-10 questions I knew immediately that I failed this exam. By having only experience to help me through the exam, I realized that I needed to know the concept inside and out to pass this exam... A thorough knowledge of the concept at a high level. I know this has been mentioned multiple times in other post however, I also want to re-iterate that this exam not only wants you to think like a manager but also apply the situations as a manager/Security Advisor. Now don't get me wrong there are some questions that will require you to answer the question as a technician but all in all if there is a managerial task take a minute or two to focus on that particular question. Also another thing I must mention is that this exam really wants you to understand the process of security as a whole! Onto my passing score phase