Ccna r & s

Mr.Robot255Mr.Robot255 Member Posts: 196 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All!

recently finished my net+ and now going to start R&S , i am waiting a couple weeks as a new *version* is coming out (is what ive been told)
what is the current version is it 22-125?

a few questions:
1) how much if any will i have covered in the net+ (im assuming having just finished the net+ i will have somewhat of a headstart on the study material Hoping!)
2) How long does this take t do on average (or individual rsponses if possible)
3) i understand this is done in two exams is that correct?
4) what kinda home system will i need (specs) will i have to do it all virtually or can i set a hardware based homelab (what would i need to pull it off successfully)
5) i have packet tracer and boson net simulator but yet to really give them a a proper workout~(i.e im still learning how to use them)

thanks for any replies

Comments

• OctalDumpOctalDump Member Posts: 1,722
    I don't think there is a new version coming. Cisco usually announce exam retirements long in advance to give people a chance to finish the current version. There's no reason to hold off. Even when there is an update, it's usually no more than 20% new materials. And the fundamentals don't change much.

Info about exam versions is here on Cisco's website.

200-125 is the current version of the 'combo' exam. You can also take 100-105 to gain CCENT, and then 200-105 to get CCNA R+S. I think these were released mid last year, and normally they are current for a couple of years, so another update isn't likely for more than 12 months, which should be more than enough time to study.

Net+ is a good place to start and will help ease into Cisco. The biggest difference is that the Cisco exam will have you actually configuring many things.