SQL Guys: If you were in my shoes

oxymoron5koxymoron5k Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am a Systems Admin at a medium sized company. I do it all. I am the IT guy who manages the servers but also fixes the printers and so forth. We have a bunch of small SQL databases that the tech support mostly manages but I want to start learning SQL to manage them. This would also give me real world SQL experience for resumes in the future.

What path of SQL do you guys think is best? If you could be in my shoes where would you start to go? I have no opinion on job type since I am very new to SQL. I am going to start studying hardcore tomorrow since I blew out my knee and have a lot of down time.

DBA? Developer?

Comments

• DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I think the easier transition would be DBA. Being a systems guy that would be my suggestion.

If you are a analyst, developer, BA etc then I would recommend development. But at the end of the day it's up to you.
  • AvgITGeekAvgITGeek Member Posts: 342 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yup. I agree with DatabaseHead. Being you are familiar with the concepts of users, groups, permissions and administration, the DBA would be the easier of the two. You also mention the keyword manage. That is primarily the DBA's job. Not the developer. The developer is there to deliver data to the end users. To write T-SQL queries you need to know the language and understand relationships and how to leverage them to get the data you are asking for. You've got to think in sets rather than loops. Not that it can't be done, if you like dealing with servers rather than looking at code then the DBA path is for you. I like both. I loved getting report requests and figuring out how to deliver it in the most efficient way possible but I also loved being on the admin side and making things efficient :)

There are some instances where the Developer is also the DBA but in medium sized companies, it is rare. I was both in the SMB I worked at.