I'm having a doubt to get certifications

MTLChrisLEEMTLChrisLEE Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I'm a software engineering student.

There are lots of fields that I'm interested in but administration/security are the most interesting fields for me. I'm studying CompTIA Security+, CCNA, and RHCSA for fun.

I had a conversation with my friends and some of them say it's a bad idea to get an IT certificate. If I do have a bachelor degree, I'll easily find a job. They've never heard about a company seeking for people with RHCSA or CCNA. Also, there are lots of ****, so they don't think a company really give you an extra point for certificates.

On the other side, there are few friends say that I need to get an IT certificates to stand on the starting lines. Since I cannot make any portfolio as an administrator or security professionals, it is a good idea to get an IT certificate.

I'm really really confused. What do you think?

Thank you and have a nice day.

Comments

• soccarplayer29soccarplayer29 Member Posts: 230 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Get certifications.

Here's why:
    1. If all of your college buddies have degrees and so do you but you also have certs you'll stand out. Shows you're going above and beyond and have initiative/drive
    2. Even if certs are necessary or a job requirement you'll learn a lot studying for the certifications and that will help you stand out in an interview and prepare you with additional skills/knowledge
    3. Bachelor programs vary tremendously and there is no standardized knowledge and certs can fill that gap
    4. There's tons of (totally biased and self-serving) "Salary Surveys" out there that will support the IT certification market and show that those with certifications get paid more than those without certifications