SSCP for me?

tripleatriplea Member Posts: 190 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi All,

OK currently Im a production sysadmin and have been for a few years. Also work a lot on the OS/desktop side. Looking to now move over to InfoSec in the next couple of years and Im assisting the InfoSec boys now. Im not a network engineer but can follow my way around the majority.

The InfoSec manager has suggested I go for SSCP and Im looking for the best way to get the resources. Is there a preferred guide/book ( Im paying for this myself and hoping to get them to pay for the exam ) I've already completed the 301 Sec+ but that was 3 odd years ago using mainly daryl gibsons guide and certifications expired now. I also used the professor messor course as a supplement.

So that my background, whats the resource please?

Want to do this one first then the Comptia CSA+ probably if funds allow as I think that should give me a good way into InfoSec.

( and keep them in date! )

Cheers

Comments

• p@r0tuXusp@r0tuXus Member Posts: 532 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Pluralsight, CBT Nuggets and ITpro.TV all have video series that can help you with this. There are free apps on the Android Google Play Store that you can download to use like test-prep and flash-cards. I'd recommend getting the Sybex book or an AIO premium guide as both should grant you online resources (or a cd) for additional test prep materials. Good luck! Let us know how it goes.
    Completed: ITIL-F, A+, S+, CCENT, CCNA R|S
    In Progress: Linux+/LPIC-1, Python, Bash
    Upcoming: eJPT, C|EH, CSA+, CCNA-Sec, PA-ACE
  • JasminLandryJasminLandry Member Posts: 601 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Don't forget that for the SSCP, you need 2 years experience doing security related work.
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Sorry to correct you Jasmin, but SSCP require only 1 year of security work.