Options

Certification Ideas

galenzorzgalenzorz Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello

I'm a cyber security professional in the military. I have 1 year remaining on my contract and I'm trying to find the next certification that I should pursue. I work in endpoint security, IDS/IPS analysis and operations, and IA. Currently I have:

Security+
Certified Ethical Hacker
Associate of ISC2 (CISSP pending degree)
85% completed with degree in Software Development and Security.

GIAC is very expensive but I would really like to get my GCIA completed. Currently though, a test attempt is more than $1000. Is it worth it? I am looking to work in IA, Information Security Engineering, or Software/Systems Development. I would love to hear what people think would be a good addition to my certification base or maybe even something that is a must have that I have no idea about. I am looking forward to any feedback I can get.

Comments

• Options
    twodogs62twodogs62 Member Posts: 393 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Sans works best if you have their book.
    test questions come from book material.
    the material in classes are extensive.
    maybe someone with this exact cert can chime in too.
  • Options
    yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Last time I checked the chart, GCIH gives you more bang for the buck for a clearance job, since it grants IAT-III and then some. But you have ISC associate and CEH so the GCIH gains are moot. Last time I checked a job board, GCIH yielded 200ish hits versus 100ish hits for GCIA. Both really are exotic gems for your cert crown.

How about a CCNA? You probably aren't touching switches and routers but the same job board yields over 1000 hits. CCNA and maybe getting the degree finished ASAP is my vote.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • Options
    YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□