Passed GCIA

E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
What a tough exam. Either I am starting to feel some burnout from the continuous studying or GCIA is just a beast. Scored 72% with less than two minutes remaining on the clock and didn't take a break.. I am not good with time management on these open book exams. I want to make sure I look up every answer even when I am sure I know it.

My approach to this was different than GCIH. I took SEC504 live and started my index after going through all of the material. For SEC503 I did on-demand and built my index as I followed the course. There is a quiz at the end of each section so I made sure to have my index completed for that book before taking the quiz. I didn't have enough time to complete the first practice exam so I just rushed through it and took snapshots of the questions I didn't understand for review later. After that I went through all of the material again then took the second practice exam (scored 74% and used all four hours). My index went through several revisions. I had to go over some of the material multiple times including this morning before the test. Building the tcpdump filters, understanding everything in the headers, and the more fragments section took a while to catch on.

Feeling pretty good about the results considering the bulk of my studying was done later in the evening after the kids were in bed and during my train rides to/from work (50 minutes each way).

CISM is my other certification goal this year plus I really need to work on my Dutch. No rest for the weary icon_cheers.gif
Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS

Comments

• JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Congrats on the pass!! GCIA is definitely a beast. I passed with a 72 or 73 myself. My study for the GCIA was similar to yours.