College vs Certs

boxerboy1168boxerboy1168 Member Posts: 395 ■■■□□□□□□□
Does having a degree offer any benefit to you in the job market over that of certs?

Having a degree do you still require the certs?

Do I need the certs even if I have a degree?

Been encountering a lot of, "You need a degree."
Currently enrolling into WGU's IT - Security Program. Working on LPIC (1,2,3) and CCNA (and S) as long term goals and preparing for the Security+ and A+ as short term goals.

Comments

• PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Degree is definitely going to satisfy the "check the box" HR filters. Without a degree, you could climb the ladder, but depending on the company, you may not be able to proceed higher without at least a Bachelor's.

Certs are going to be a must if you don't have established history with a company. It shows up-to-date knowledge on specific objectives, and most certs have CE or renewal requirements.

Experience is also going to be on the "must-have" checklist. I used to tell my students: "There are degrees, certs, and experience. Whoever has the most wins." Not 100% accurate, but something to consider.
    Master of Business Administration in Information Technology Management - Western Governors University
    Master of Science in Information Security and Assurance - Western Governors University
    Bachelor of Science in Network Administration - Western Governors University
    Associate of Applied Science x4 - Heald College
  • trojintrojin Member Posts: 275 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Definitely answer for all your questions is: YES
    I'm just doing my job, nothing personal, sorry

xx+ certs...and I'm not counting anymore

• boxerboy1168boxerboy1168 Member Posts: 395 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I've been on the cert path currently for the last few months. There is a 2 year cyber security program at my local CC, thinking about going. Can't hurt right? Thanks in advance.