Options

changing what you do...

tibultibul Member Posts: 240
This has probably been asked before, but if you need experiance to get into a different part of IT e.g. Cisco networking/security then how would you get into these areas without having experiance first as people say if you dont have experiance then certifications dont really matter.

i ask this as i currently work as a network admin/desktop support with 3 years experiance, which mostly involves administrating microsoft networks/servers etc but no cisco hardware and not much on security.

so the question is how would i switch to another career path without any experiance with cisco or security other than what i learn from studying, doing labs and taking exams.
Studying 70-292.
Aiming for MCSA: Security and 2003 upgrade.

Comments

• Options
    Paul BozPaul Boz Member Posts: 2,620 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I've found that the best way to move up or into different things in the IT field is to shadow people that do what you want to do at work, or get your certs and try to get your hands on real equipment so that you can actually learn what you're doing with hands on lab time.
    CCNP | CCIP | CCDP | CCNA, CCDA
    CCNA Security | GSEC |GCFW | GCIH | GCIA
    pbosworth@gmail.com
    http://twitter.com/paul_bosworth
    Blog: http://www.infosiege.net/
  • Options
    well thats what i was wondering if say for example i buy some routers/switches etc so i can have hands on lab experiance with cisco hardware for the ccna, would an employer actually class this as hands on experiance and have a much more chance of employing you.

as there are no cisco guys or security guys at the place i work so i couldent do the shadowing option.
    Studying 70-292.
  • Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    tibul wrote: