GCIH Passed 4/27/2017

frfghtrjoshfrfghtrjosh Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Greetings All,

Passed GIAC GCIH yesterday with a 90%. Below is some of my insight.

Preparation: I studied the On-Demand SANS 504 class for about two month before taking the exam. Took my CEH last year and that help a little (I mean "a little"). The SANS on-demand class was very informative and very well executed. I went through the videos maybe 3 times, read through the books twice and played around with the lab portion a few times. I took the 1st Practice Exam (in 2 hours) and scored a 84%, I went through it mostly without notes to test my true understanding of the concepts. I also made notes of the missed question and updated my index. My 2nd Attempt I hit 86% in about the same time. I felt ready.

Index: The first time I went through the lessons, I made the majority of my index and with each sequential pass through I added onto the index. I used a tip found on this forum and and tabbed every 10 pages in the book for easier lookups. For the indexes I made 4 different ones, Definitions, Tools, Windows Commands and Linux Commands. I made 4 columns on each ones, including: Term, brief description, book# and page#. For the 1st practice exam I left them ordered by Book number but consistently found myself trying to use it as if it was alphabetize by term. I change it for the 2nd practice exam and final exam to be just that, alphabetized by term, much easier.