Newbie intro and glad to be here!

BeachGirlBeachGirl Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all! So happy to have found this forum! I am a geek and love learning. I am a true believer in there will always be something for me to learn because no one ever knows it all. I am an Air Force vet (computer career) with 3 yrs service. I achieved a Computer Science Bachelor's Degree in Computer studies from UMUC. I have worked as a web designer, tech support & email administrator for an internet company, a database assistant for a magazine & warehouse, and even owned my own graphic design & website business for awhile. My most recent job was a project coordinator for electronic banking for a holding company that owned 2 banks on one core system. I was the first to hold that position and as such had to create all the documentation, develop a database for enhancements & problems, protocols, standards & testing procedures (they had relied solely on vendors before I arrived). I had to coordinate not only with the two banks but also the vendors...ensuring that whatever enhancement or fix one bank wanted did not interfere with the operation of the other bank on the same core banking system. I also was involved with the core banking system upgrade and ensuring it operated correctly and had been thoroughly tested (even writing test scripts and creating test groups) before it was released. They also took advantage of my background & had me create their logo & website, create marketing, and act as assistant IT security. I ended up giving up my career because I fell in love with a military man and someone had to sacrifice to make that work. I followed him around and took care of our son after he was born. Now fast forward to now...my hubby is set to retire in a year, my son will be heading into 2nd grade, and I have the post 9/11 GI Bill availble to pursue a graduates degree. I know how imperative it is to be current in the technology field and I am very aware I have been out of it fo