Eric Conrad's Book Enough?

MechsMechs Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone has passed the CISSP just using this book as a main source?

I do have the Official Study Guide, but I fee it's quite chatty and my attention seems to be slipping

A little about my background:

-Worked in infrastructure IT from 2009 a 2012. Worked with Active Directory permissions, firewalling, virtualisation, server maintenance and upgrades, etc

-2012 onwards worked as an intrusion/malware analyst for Symantec, UK government and a few other large investment banks

Educationally I have a bachelors in Computer Networking and a masters in information security ( heavy on crypto, AAA, BCP, Risk, security models, computer hardware security, etc). Im also GCIH and GCIA

Most of the CBK I have knowledge of except for physical and software security. There isn't too much that stands out as really foreign.

So I am wondering if I can get away with the Eric Conrad book and the ISC Practise Exam book?

Cheers!

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■□□□□□□□□
    For CISSP, consider buying the Shon Harris book. It has a lot of good feedback here!
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Conrad's book is not enough. You can take as a first reading, but if you have some experience, i would stick with the official book from Sybex. I would leave Shon Harris to a less experienced people who need a lot more background kn the material.
  • Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Mechs wrote: »
    I do have the Official Study Guide, but I fee it's quite chatty and my attention seems to be slipping

Most of the CBK I have knowledge of except for physical and software security. There isn't too much that stands out as really foreign.

So I am wondering if I can get away with the Eric Conrad book and the ISC Practise Exam book?