OSCP - Start Date 28/5/17

Chard26Chard26 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

Finally decided to bite the bullet and go for this awesome certification. I have my start date of the 28th May, also have the VM setup and ready to go. Connection to the lab environment has been tested and successful.

I am pretty much going into this blind, I have some experience in pentesting but not a lot, I would like to be able to take this cert and make my way to a full time pentester. I am currently in a NOC as a firewall engineer, and doing this off my own back, so my evenings and weekend will be full of study and hacking away in the labs.

Any advise would be appreciated :)

Thanks Guys
Chars

Comments

• packetphilterpacketphilter Member Posts: 85 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Good luck! I don't have any advice, but I was curious if there's a deadline to start your lab time once you purchase the course. For instance, if I purchase the course with 90 days lab time, do I have to start within a month, two months, or could I start it six months later if I wanted?
  • Chard26Chard26 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hi Packetphilter,

When you register for the course you are given a selection of dates to choose from (theses are usually 4-6 weeks advanced). I guess they do this to keep a steady stream of people in the labs. When you have selected your date and gone through the Proof of ID process they send you links for the VM download and test connectivity to the lab environment. Once connectivity is confirmed you then send payment, and your access to the labs start from the date you chose in the registration phase. I would suggest that you plan to register and pay when you think you are ready to tackle the lab, as your access will be cut off 90 days from the day you pick. Or you could just bite the bullet like i did and jumped in with both feet :D

Thanks
    Chard
  • LonerVampLonerVamp Member Posts: 518 ■■■■■■■■□□