Comp Sci Switch?

StrifeXStrifeX Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone. I'm hoping I can get a little bit of advice to define my path forward. I just had the opportunity to separate from the military, and I was given a pretty generous offer ($120k), however, I did not feel my experience level (or my bank account) was in position to take a risk, plus the company (HPE) is being sold/merged and I've read about constant layoffs. I had another offer, but it was for a windows expert, of which I am not. So I re-enlisted to finish up my degree and learn some more.

Anyway, during my various interviews it seemed that I am at about a Jr. level in cyber security. I would have to say my biggest weakness is my foundation. Prior to my current job, I was an aircraft mechanic. A lot times I was asked what my sys admin experience was, or how familiar I am with active directory, etc. I analyze pcap traffic all day. I have never been a sys admin or stood up servers, etc. I have been working on my Comp Sci degree through UMUC, of which I have about 50 credits left.

My question is should I switch to an IT degree, such as UMUC's Networking and Cybersecurity degree or WGU? I don't feel that Com Sci is too difficult, and I do really enjoy programming, but the skills that I was being asked about are not presented in a Comp Sci degree. Would it be wiser to switch to an IT focused degree to get that knowledge?

For reference, the certs I have so far are Sec+, GCIH, and CISSP. I was considering taking CCNA next to get better networking knowledge.

Comments

• jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Finish the Comp Sci degree then get certs.

In the meantime, there's lots of alternate training opportunities at Cybrary. Udacity, Coursera, EdX, etc.

For CCNA, I suggest danscourses.com which is based on Cisco NetAcad curriculum.
  • yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□