Options

Career Advice - - Please Help

ravenx76ravenx76 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,

Sorry for another career advice thread.

A little about my background first; I have been in IT for about 10 years last 5 as system admin windows side (bored to death). Recently passed RHCSA so decent at linux. Also hold security+, CCNA, MCSA have completed watching CEH video's and will write the test soon.

Anyways, I could use some advice as to what cert to take next after CEH. I am looking at two possible career paths in security.

1. Pen tester - OSCP or GPEN.

2. I'm also, considering forensics not sure what cert is best but love what I'm seeing from Sans. I also love the idea of getting the bad guys even going to trial appeals to me. I think I may be able to stomach some of the hard to see stuff if I focus on the greater good. I have zero experience in either field but both appeal to me.

Here are the factors I am struggling with. Which one is more employable, pros and cons of each. Also, OSCP looks great but with a wife and 3 kids not sure if I have the study time required I hear its intense. I have the money to pay for SANS and like the idea of on-site training for a few weeks away from distractions and coming back with a cert.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    ravenx76 wrote: »
    . . . I have the money to pay for SANS and like the idea of on-site training for a few weeks away from distractions and coming back with a cert. . .

For the money, you get 6-days of in-class training and a pile of books. You then get a 4-month expiration date to study what you were exposed to if you feel like taking the exam for the cert.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□