Options

How to get entry level job?

eltoro89eltoro89 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys!

I'm a student at WGU in the BSIT Security program. I've just moved from a small town in Georgia to Dallas, TX. This is my first term in the program and I will be finishing A+ by the end of my term (next month). I don't have any IT experience from a job standpoint, just a lifelong love of technology. I do, however, have 2 years of call center experience in customer service for a global manufacturer.

Since I just moved to Dallas, I'd like to find a job ASAP, but am unsure if employers will take me seriously until I, at the very least, finish my A+ next month. My ultimate goal is to be a network engineer, but I don't think I can get an entry level NOC job until I finish at the very least the N+ and optimally the CCNA. What types of positions should I be looking for?

Comments

• Options
    NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I would upload your resume on Dice, and see if any recruiters can help you land a position.

You should be targeting help desk positions.

The 2 years of experience in the call center will definitely help, since most positions look for 1-2 years of customer service experience.
    When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened."

--Alexander Graham Bell,
    American inventor
  • Options
    Deus Ex MachinaDeus Ex Machina Member Posts: 127
    I am a broken record when it comes to job advice, but connections are by far the most important component of entry level job searches. There's more newbies than there are newbie positions and outsourcing is eliminating much of the remaining work. Knock on any family or friend networks you may have to see if anyone could find you something. The alternative is painful and luck dependent.
    "The winner takes it all"
  • Options
    ITSec14ITSec14 Member Posts: 398 ■■■□□□□□□□