For the life of me I can't do certifications unless I directly work with the tech

DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
For some reason I just can't gain the energy or strength to certify in something I have very little if any knowledge in. I totally get certifying to learn in a structured format, but I just can't do it. In fact I have to be pretty damn good at the technology already before I even attempt to certify in that particular subject.

How do you handle it?

For instance I moved into new environment and have been working with a new database technology, but until I get true hands on for a sustained period of time I just can't get the motivation to start to study. Anyone else run in to this? Getting out ahead of the technology makes a lot of sense, but something internal is saying no.

It's not laziness either, I am always labbing at home with technologies I have extensive experience with.

Comments

• tmtextmtex Member Posts: 326 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Same way and it kills me. I went from a top notch job to a low end job and have no motivation. Don't understand it
  • jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I have a hard time with it as well. I barely do any InfoSec stuff at work but I'm still working towards the certifications and knowledge and trying to create work for myself so I can gain InfoSec experience.

I was working on the RHCSA and CWNA but I'm not gonna use that knowledge unless I get a job using that information. So now I gotta work on getting Linux into the work environment.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'm relieved to hear I am not the only one who is like this.