Should I get a lesser cert or CISSP?

WIZARD1325WIZARD1325 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have a year left in my Bachelors in science cyber security (college of business) Have no idea how my diploma will read. All my class's are business classes and its a college of business but my major is Cybersecurity.

So anyway I finished my Network + class got a (B) in it. I have 1 year left in school I have alot of free time to study for a cert so should I just study for a ISC^2 CISSP Exam? Or should i do Network + or security PLus etc.? In my degree program I have to take those class's regardless and use the books but its just to prepare you for the exam the school doesnt administer them.

The school also told me that if I take and pass the CISSP exam it exempts me (give credit) to 3 classes which will satisfy my degree making me able to graduate sooner by a semester.

Anyway I am a noob to all of this please give any wisdom you may have.

I am not sure what direction I want to go inside the career field of cyber security I can only know that once im in the work force or intern (maybe) so what would you say is a better approach at things? I figured i need experience so might as well pass the text and everything else once im hired would fall in place 4 years later.

anyway let me know guys your the ones out there in the real world

Comments

• jt2929jt2929 Member Posts: 244 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I would go Security+ if I were in your shoes. You won't be able to get the CISSP credential, or even mention passing the exam on a resume, without the required experience. No use in passing an exam if you can't use it.
  • TankerTTankerT Member Posts: 132
    Go for the CISSP exam. jt2929 is only partially correct. While you can't list "CISSP exam complete" on your resume, you can claim Associate of ISC2 status if you register with ISC2 after passing the exam.