Your opinions, please. Freelance to Pro? Certs and/or degrees?

jayveljayvel Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I've been self-taught and on-call for over 15 years now. Besides being a real estate photographer, which is getting quite boring, computer/tech calls have been my source of income. I have a few families and a few businesses as well as slow but steady new calls. I've always been more drawn toward networking & security.

Lately I've been, okay for years now I have been, thinking of getting a few certs and/or a degree. The idea was going to grab a couple certs and possibly use them toward a degree or two (Computer Networking & Security)...or is the degree idea a waste of time?

What way should I go? What certifications would you get? Would you go for the degrees, too? Should I just give in like a normal bloke and get a regular 9 to 5?

Thanks!

Comments

• volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,046 ■■■■■■■■□□
    jayvel wrote: »
    What way should I go? What certifications would you get? Would you go for the degrees, too? Should I just give in like a normal bloke and get a regular 9 to 5?

Thanks!

Only YOU can answer these questions.

But, hey, if you are really Ready to make a change...... then Make it happen.

A community college degree might be worthwhile for yu.
    If you want to learn more about networking, then consider the Network+ curriculum.

a CCNA can help you land on a NOC somewhere.

my 2 cents
  • TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you dont have any kind of degree then getting one is good. If you have one, then gettinf certifications would be better.
  • 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Certs are great, but most of the everyday security tools you need to learn are all free with plenty of internet walk-throughs. I'll self-promote my past post here:

http://www.techexams.net/forums/security-certifications/125638-free-security-tools-help-you-learn.html
  • ande0255ande0255 Banned Posts: 1,178