Options

Looking to get my foot into IT Security, need some guidance.

Saber123316Saber123316 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■■□□□□□□□□
Good Morning,

I recently got the notion that I need to get some sort of industry recognized certification under my belt if I wish to move on from my current role.

I work for a local ISP, I make good money as a Network Analyst, I basically make sure provisioning on DSL / IPTV is correct and deal with any network issues I see. I speak to techs all day. I have worked in primarily a call center role for the past decade. My current job has no challenge I could auto pilot my day to day.

Finally decided to dedicate myself to getting something under my belt. I have 2 weeks of vacation starting July 8th and I have signed up for PWK course and get on my way to get the OSCP certification. I still have not paid because I have some questions and possible personal doubts.

I would really like to make a move into IT Security in a big way, I could spend hours, in fact I hate to say it but when I was 19-20 I would spend 12-16 hours on end scanning ip blocks just to satisfy the itch.

Now my doubts are the following:

1: I have no industry certs and I spent 1 year in college after highschool in a computer network administration program. That schooling is not very relevant a year later. I have attempted to get say the Cisco CCNA however I have a hard time with taking that much information in from the two massive tomes I have at home, in fact they now support my broken couch.

2: I can't code / script. Basic fundamentals state I need to know how to do basic coding and scripting and I can maybe make hello world in C and Python. Coding is one of those things that draws a blank with me.

3: I am 29 and its been 10 years since I last had to study for anything, can I pull this off? My one advantage is no wife, girl friend, kids, and the money and free time to do this.

Comments

• Options
    labscloudlabscloud Member Posts: 137 ■■□□□□□□□□