Another what's next thread. (3 Certs, IS degree, Help Desk)

TwoJTwoJ Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been working at a help desk for half a year now. I have a degree in IS and I'm going to get my 3rd cert (CSA+) in the beginning of July. I already have the Net+, the Sec+, and I created a website/web-server to serve as a landing page for prospective employers.

I really enjoy studying subjects from the red-team realm (reading basic security testing in Kali Linux 2) and I'm interested in taking the CEH. I don't have 2 years of infosec experience so I would have to drop 800 dollars just to sign up, is there something else that I should study instead? Should I completely focus on finding another job now?

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Start sending out your resume to jobs that you'd be interested in. You never know until you jump in. It doesn't take that much time to send a resume out. You can still focus on other things too....
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    Skip the CEH - waste of time waste of money.

I strongly recommend eLearnSecurity eJPT, you will learn practical skills in a proper lab environment, and you can later do eCPPT and OSCP
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

• TwoJTwoJ Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    UnixGuy wrote: »

I strongly recommend eLearnSecurity eJPT, you will learn practical skills in a proper lab environment

That's awesome, thanks. I was actually wondering if there were more entry-lvl alternatives to the OSCP.
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod