Which Job? Security Analyst, Security Engineer, or IT Director of Desktop Support?

KyrakKyrak Member Posts: 143 ■■■□□□□□□□
As the title suggests, a couple of internal positions have opened up where I am currently working as a System Engineer for $93K a year. Enterprise company with around 4K users, microsoft shop, Cisco UCS servers, Equallogic, EMC, and Nimble storage. I've got 20 years of experience but took 10 years off running my own businesses so my resume was a bit rusty so I ended up taking this position to get my feet wet again. This definitely isn't the company of my dreams and there are some real work life balance problems so I am mainly considering these options for what would be best for the NEXT company and position.

I recently passed my CISSP and am waiting for my endorsement and also have all of the other certs listed to the left. My original plan was to wait for that to come through, revamp my resume and look for a position in Security with a new company with hopefully a nice pay bump. However the security department where I am now is expanding with a security analyst and security engineer. Then the IT Director for Desktop Support / Helpdesk left last week so that position is open as well. I do have experience as a manager in my past (but not as a director) so I feel like I could have a good chance at getting any of the three positions.

Since I have been on the infrastructure side, the idea of going back to the Desktop Support / Helpdesk side even as a director makes me hesitate. I know a lot of this depends on what my goals are which are $$ and having a job I enjoy with some work life balance and especially getting out of the on call schedule that keeps me up more nights than I would like. My plans are longer term to end up in a CISO or CIO type role so the Director seems like the best option, but security is in such demand right now I don't know if I should focus there. So which would you choose?