C# Interview Questions?

the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
I have a buddy who is graduating (Comp Sci) and has an interview for a programming position. He knows C#, but this is the first technical interview he has ever had and he'd like to have an idea of what he should prepare for. So any C# people out there that could post some interview questions you would ask of an entry level programmer?
WIP:
PHP
Kotlin
Intro to Discrete Math
Programming Languages
Work stuff

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    the_Grinch wrote: »
    I have a buddy who is graduating (Comp Sci) and has an interview for a programming position. He knows C#, but this is the first technical interview he has ever had and he'd like to have an idea of what he should prepare for. So any C# people out there that could post some interview questions you would ask of an entry level programmer?

I have some C# background. C# fits somewhere between a scripting language (like Perl) and a full-blown programming language (like C++). The needs of an organization that uses C# varies widely, but generally these tend to be shorter-term (a year or less) projects.

Company Focus> I would suggest trying to ascertain what IDE (Visual Studio, Monodevelop, etc.) and libraries/functionality that company uses frequently and at least knowing the basics of those.

Practical Application> Obviously, he should be prepared to write accurate programs on a whiteboard that do things like reverse a list, parse something, display a pattern, etc.

Up to date> There are several versions of C#/.NET. I'd suggest knowing what the latest versions offer. Be prepared to discuss commands in the standard libraries that C# offers.