equipment for building a home lab

BennyTheManBennyTheMan Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi. I just failed my ccent 100-105 and am planning on bringing my study to the next level, so I can pass this exam by the end of the summer. I subscribed to cbtnuggets and would like to make a home lab. Cbtnuggets recommends a general setup regarding routers and switches etc.. Does anyone have any recommendations about which equipment I should buy and where? I plan on studying for the second ccent exam after passing the first one so I may continue to use the lab. I am new to networking and would rather buy all the gear as a complete lab instead of getting all the pieces myself, unless it is really straightforward.

Best regards,

-Benny

Comments

• keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    it depends on your idea. my suggestion is for someone new is to go physical. reason being is that your going to need real hands on experience as all of the stuff you will touch will be real gear. gets you accustom to real gear and physical stuff that comes with it
    Become the stainless steel sharp knife in a drawer full of rusty spoons
  • BennyTheManBennyTheMan Member Posts: 76 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • CryptoQueCryptoQue Member Posts: 204 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I agree. If you're new to networking then physical equipment will work best. However, if you have network experience, I would suggest using a simulated environment like Packet Tracer. I used it personally when taking the CCENT and CCNA exams and followed along with the CBT nuggets presentations. It gives you all the simulated things needed to pass the hands-on portion of the exam (i.e. routers, switches, PCs, cabling, etc.). I failed my CCENT exam the first time I took it because I wasn't prepared for the simulated hands-on questions, so I completely understand what you're going through. Let me know if I can help. Good luck BennyTheMan!
  • DCDDCD Member Posts: 473 ■■■■□□□□□□