Would you do this move ?

dsgmdsgm Member Posts: 228 ■■■□□□□□□□
Ok here it is, im finding it hard to make up my mind, mind you i havent gotten the job yet, i am currently a Noc engineer i make about 23 and hour and work 4 days a week 12 * 3 and another 6 hour shift, i travel about 180 miles per week and spend 20 on gas each week.

The job i am in the running for is contract to hire starting at 26 an hour then roll over to about 27 if i get permanent, i would work 5 days a week no weekends off and travel about 440 miles a week, so id say i would spend about 40 a week on gas ??? give or take. I do get to touch more stuff and learn more at the new job

Does this sound like a good move to you, or should i try to get more and if not just keep looking ?

Comments

• p@r0tuXusp@r0tuXus Member Posts: 532 ■■■■□□□□□□
    1) 440 miles / 180 miles = 2.4444 (* $20 /week) = $48.89/week (new rate)
    2) $1,040 wk. grs (40 hrs @ $26/hr) - $989 (40 hrs @ $23/hr, 2 hrs @ $34.5/hr) = $51.00
    3) $51 - $48.89 = $2.11 more a week. (less if you consider taxes, you might actually be losing money)

So money is not the motivator here, right? How much actual work experience with newer technologies do you think you'll get access to? How likely does it look like you'll be able to move from contractor to full-time? What about health insurance differences/costs? Are you picking up more of those leaving your current company?

I think it sounds like more driving/wear-tear on your vehicle... better account for maintenance more often too. It sounds like you'll be losing money short-term.
    Completed: ITIL-F, A+, S+, CCENT, CCNA R|S
    In Progress: Linux+/LPIC-1, Python, Bash
    Upcoming: eJPT, C|EH, CSA+, CCNA-Sec, PA-ACE
  • dsgmdsgm Member Posts: 228 ■■■□□□□□□□
    p@r0tuXus wrote: »
    1) 440 miles / 180 miles = 2.4444 (* $20 /week) = $48.89/week (new rate)
    2) $1,040 wk. grs (40 hrs @ $26/hr) - $989 (40 hrs @ $23/hr, 2 hrs @ $34.5/hr) = $51.00