IT Certifications and employment

GAV665GAV665 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I'm trying to make a career change to working in IT and I have some questions about which jobs I would likely be able to get with which certifications without much experience. My goal is eventually at least to work as a systems administrator. I got a Master's degree related to biology and I worked a job sort of at the interface between genetics and IT for 4 years, during that time I got some experience scripting and using Excel but it wasn't really a true IT job.

I lost my job four months ago, and since then I got CompTIA A+ and MTA - Server Fundamentals certifications. I started studying for the MCSA Server 2012 and I might be able to get it in 4-6 months provided I don't work during that time.

I applied to many help-desk and some technician jobs but I didn't get a response. I was sort of surprised by that.

Please feel free to chime in if you have any advice.

Comments

• jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    - Let us take a look at your resume, if thats okay with you.
    - Try volunteering to get more experience until you can get a job.
    - Use indeed.com if you haven't.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Also, is it entry-level jobs you are applying to? Part of the help desk is customer service. Do you have experience in that? Also, like #jamesleecoleman said, post your resume.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • GAV665GAV665 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    (My name)

(Address)
    (Phone number)
    (email)