Passed the Sec+

hxhxhxhx Member Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been aware of the Security+ exam since it came out, but was never ready to take it on. I passed the ITIL v3 exam in April and it got me motivated to keep going. I am also beginning to focus much more seriously on security. That's where the battle is in the future. About the exam...

6 Sims, 72 Questions. I got an 803. The exam was not far off from the test questions at GCGA, Exam Compass, or Professor Messer. GCGA premium is very helpful when it comes to identifying weak spots and practicing sims. The test was pretty much the same difficulty as the GCGA questions. Some of the exam questions were poorly written. They tried to take simple topic and complicate with poor grammar. But they got their point across and obviously it wasn't an issue for me.

I studied for 7 weeks. I got around a 60 on the pre-assessment exam in the Gibson book, so I had a solid base of knowledge to begin with.

Here is how I prepared...
  • Gibson book. 2 chapters per week
  • Brainscape (AMAZING!) Brainscape is great for studying things that need to be memorized like port numbers. I used it only on my phone. I can't recommend it enough for drilling facts. You can use existing decks or create your own. I had some decks for my weak areas (ports, advanced threats, concepts behind incorrect test answers)
  • Professor Messer study groups for passive learning. I'd turn them on in the background. I found the study groups more valuable than the individual videos. I did use the individual videos to review certain topics. If you watch them on his site, you can read the transcripts. That's helpful. It's a nice supplement.
  • Cybrary: Didn't make it through module 1. It's good for individual topics, but I didn't really need it. I don't think it's possible to pass an exam on Cybrary alone.
  • ExamCompass: Someone recommended it here. It was good for getting extra test questions.
  • Messer Pop Quizzes. Same as Exam Compass