Study materials for CCENT and CCNA for a completely new guy???

napoleonppnapoleonpp Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have just been given a new job in the Army as an Information Services Technician. Most people are required to spend some time working with computers prior to this job, however this was a unique situation. As a result, I will be trying to play catch-up and keeping up in class. I will attend a 8 month school learning the job, which I hear CCNA is a large part of the course and lots of people struggle with it. Once again I have zero experience with computers other than making PowerPoint presentations and connecting a computer to a printer on a network with an IP address. I have been told that I should study CCENT as well since that will give me the basics. I have no clue what either of these even are.

I'm looking to purchase the Odom CCENT/CCNA ICND1 100-105 to try and read ahead prior to the class, I may have about 3 months before I attend the course. I was told this book is recommended to have during the actual course. Would this book be sufficient for someone starting from scratch? If not then do you know what book(s) would be good for a complete beginner when it comes to CCENT/CCNA? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Consider getting the Chris Bryant CCNA course from Udemy. It is $10 right now.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • zeitgeist29zeitgeist29 Member Posts: 47 ■■■□□□□□□□
    napoleonpp wrote: »