Options

Passed today! 6-30-2017

AscetikAscetik Member Posts: 7 ■■□□□□□□□□
Study Materials:

-Skillport Videos my employer purchased. Though I only watched half of them because they were so boring. Took the tests after, but I hadn't watched the videos in like 3 months. They are ultra boring and monotone.
-Darril Gibson's Security+ book. By fay the best resource. I believe I could have passed only having read this book.
-A few messer videos, but not many
-McGraw Hill book, I only read about 5 chapters from it.

I've been working in IT for about 13 years. This was my 1st attempt.

Passed with 765. Not sure what I missed because I just wanted to get some nicotine, but I'm glad I passed. It is my first official certification surprisingly.

Regarding the questions:

Make sure you know the in's and out's of encryption and have port numbers memorized or you're going to have a bad time.

Some of the questions were pretty difficult because all the answers were right but you have to choose the best answer. I only found one or two questions to be slightly vague, the rest were pretty on-point.

Thanks to the members of the forum for suggesting Darril's book, it is definitely worth the purchase.

God speed to anyone else taking the exam soon!

Comments

• Options
    SuperRed95SuperRed95 Member Posts: 13 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Ascetik wrote: »
    Study Materials:

-Skillport Videos my employer purchased. Though I only watched half of them because they were so boring. Took the tests after, but I hadn't watched the videos in like 3 months. They are ultra boring and monotone.
    -Darril Gibson's Security+ book. By fay the best resource. I believe I could have passed only having read this book.
    -A few messer videos, but not many
    -McGraw Hill book, I only read about 5 chapters from it.

I've been working in IT for about 13 years. This was my 1st attempt.