Help with HIT-001

jmartin2119jmartin2119 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I was wondering if I can get some solid advice on how I can get the HIT certification. My background is in Radiology. I have been working in a busy University hospital as a Cat Scan Technologist for the past 12 years. I recently passed the ABII CIIP exam which has Healthcare IT included in it, but mostly deals with the Radiology PACS storage of images. I have no IT experience. I recently purchased the ExamCram A+ text and have been watching Professor Messer videos to study for the A+ exam. Is it possible for me to skip the A+ and go straight to studying for the HIT exam? Also, are there any recommended study guides for the HIT? I'm planning my escape from Radiology into EMR/EHR and I'm uncertain if the A+ would benefit me. The hospital I work for is going to change EMR systems to EPIC and I'm trying to get my foot in the door before that happens. I took the CIIP exam because it does have some Health Informatics embeeded in it and I'm trying to stack up my certifications in anticipation of escaping radiology. To be honest, I have not seen or heard of anyone making the move out of radiology that I'm trying to achieve. Not that it matters, I'm also completing a Bachelors degree in Healthcare Administration in the next few months.

Thanks,
Josh

Comments

• Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
    i just recently passed this exam, it's not too heavy in the actual IT side. There are few books on Amazon that should suffice
    Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark
  • ThePawofRizzoThePawofRizzo Member Posts: 389 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yeah I have to agree with Mike-Mike, the HIT is not super IT heavy, mostly basic concepts, etc. If you've been studying for A+ you'll likely see some similar info, but at a more general level.