Beginner needs advice

SupersubSupersub Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,
I am new to computer tech, and I've been told Comptia A+ is the best way to start. I have a few questions though through the research I've been doing on how to get up to ethical hacking.
One I know people stress on experience which I'm not sure how to get. (Please advise).
Also a lot of people suggest a degree in a related field is necessary like computer science BSc. I don't have one but is it likely to get a career in cyber security without one?
I've currently been given 4 courses to go on with, CompTIA A+, network, security and then CEH. Would you think this is good? And will I be able to get experience with these in order to get a good career and would you suggest other Certs?
Also I'm in a bit of a dilemma, as I'm currently set to go to university and get a BSc in Astrophysics (something I've always liked). I realise this isn't very related but I've really started getting keen on going into cyber security. Would the fact that it's a Bachelor's in Science help me get a good career in cyber sec if I want to in the future if a degree is necessary?
Thanks for reading and this degree is something I'm not interested in turning down.

Comments

• ThePawofRizzoThePawofRizzo Member Posts: 389 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Keep in mind there is no same path for everyone. We all seem to have gotten into our fields in different ways.