Taking For508 On Demand

sb97sb97 Member Posts: 109
Just got my order placed for For508 On Demand. I was supposed to go to the DFIR summit in Austin again this year but approvals took too long. I have never done a SANS class on demand before. Will be interesting to see how this stacks up against the classroom setting.

Comments

• sb97sb97 Member Posts: 109
    I am starting the course work next week but I already had my first bit of fun. I never received a tracking number for my books. After a few days I finally called in and was told that they would be shipped in 3-5 business days (which was a problem because I had blocked out time from work and wouldn't have had my books yet). I called back the next day to see if I could upgrade to expedited shipping. The representative had to call me back with details. They were supposed to call back in 15 minutes but it took a few hours (due to some system problems). When they called back they told me that my books had in fact been shipped but the systems problems prevented them from updating the portal with my tracking data. They emailed me the tracking number and I got my books the next day.
  • UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    I took the class 2 weeks and have been studying (albeit slower than I should).

Let's post our progress here in this thread?
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Check out my YouTube channel: https://youtu.be/DRJic8vCodE 

Sounds good to me.
    Finishing up the day 2 activities. I had some background in memory analysis so it wasn't so bad but I am going to have to spend some time learning more of the volatility plugins.

One admin note. I found that listening at 1.5 normal speed works pretty well. I can still pick up on everything but the lectures move a bit quicker.
    I'm in day 2 as well...haven't done the lab but I did them during the class....so far so good. Lot's to remember about Windows!