"New" To IT InfoSec Certification

dave86dave86 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am looking for some advice :)

I have been working in the telecom industry for the past 8 years with extensive background in 4G LTE Radio Access and User Equipment Testing. In this field of work certifications were not a major player in my overall job progression. I have significant experience in windows, Linux, and networking, and obviously, Radio Access Protocol and Testing from this past life but no certs to "prove" it.

Recently my company has moved into the IT Security Realm and my job has migrated with it and I am now responsible for managing and supporting the network and infrastructure of our product which includes a SaaS solution in the AWS Cloud. In order to both prove and gain qualifications in this new realm to myself and our customers, I have quickly jumped into the IT certification world and in the past 6 months I have gained:

CompTIA A+
CompTIA Sec+
AWS SysOps Administrator Associate

I am scheduled to take the SSCP exam in the next month (mostly because I don't have the experience for CISSP so soon).

After this, now that I've caught the cert bug, where to go from here? Both from a resume builder and useful knowledge standpoint. I've quickly gained interest in the Cloud/InfoSec arena but as a relative convert, I want to prove my capability through the most useful certifications. Thanks for any advice!

Comments

• ITSec14ITSec14 Member Posts: 398 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Depends on where you want to go in your career. Answer that first as I would not just go after any and every cert out there. You should find a focus area and build on that.

You can still take the CISSP even though you don't have the experience for the full "CISSP" credential. That's what I'm doing and then I will have my Associate of (ISC)2 designation converted to the full CISSP status early next year. :)
  • markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□