Options

What's your experience working in IT?

audio_euphoriaaudio_euphoria Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
So I got a 2 year degree back in 2010 in info tech and a net+ in 2012 which has since expired. Since then I've worked a number of low paying, stressful, help desk jobs and I could never seem to work my way up and the stress really killed my motivation to self study to get more advanced certs or do a BA in my spare time. My last 2 IT jobs were so stressful I told myself flipping burgers would be better than this, quit, worked a crappy min wage job and hated it so I went back into IT again. Currently I'm working a min wage job selling cell phones and after doing this for a couple months I'm getting the itch to get back into IT again but I don't want to keep repeating the same patterns. I also feel like my credentials are way too outdated now and my only option would be another low paying stressful help desk position.

Networking has always been my forte but when I crack open the CCNA books I get frustrated learning the same stuff over and over again.

What has been your experience working in the IT field? What are some things you learned to do and not to do to get ahead and be successful at it?

Comments

• Options
    Fulcrum45Fulcrum45 Member Posts: 621 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Working for small IT depts gave me a ton of experience because there was no one else to do it. To that end I work on a lot of help desk type tasks but then I'm setting up mail servers and installing firewalls. Look for a small MSP who is willing to let you take on small projects etc. The pay wont be great but then again it doesn't sound like that's anything new. Give them a year and start looking sys admin/ net admin jobs. Just my thoughts.
  • Options
    ITSec14ITSec14 Member Posts: 398 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Hate to tell you this, but most positions after helpdesk only get more stressful...
  • Options
    QueueQueue Member Posts: 174 ■■■□□□□□□□