OSCE Log

BuhRockBuhRock Member Posts: 71 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone! I'm usually a lurker of this forum as I go back and forth on what certification to go after next. I thought it would be better for me to log my progress towards the OSCE. I passed my OSCP back in the winter of 2015 and my role at work is infrastructure lead so I don't get direct experience with penetration testing from that.

I recently read jollyfrog's thread and good god he's an animal.

So my background is a computer science major from undergrad so I understand programming and I can script enough to automate the things I care to. That being said, I thought I would brush up on my python and do what JollyFrog did and automate the FC4.me challenge. This was pretty easy for part 1. Anyone that can program should be able to whip up a script for this in no time.

For part 2, this was more interesting because I had not really a clue on what to do with my output from part 1. I started to research and read a few tutorials from corelan, fuzzysec, greycorner and even purchased the "Hacking, The art of exploitation" book to learn. Also, getting python to do what it takes to solve part 2 took a while of researching and trial and error.

So, after about 2 days I finally completed the FC4.me challenge. Now I'm waiting to hear back from offsec since my last employers email was used for my OSCP and I need them to change that for my new employer. As soon as I get my materials and a little further I will post back.

Comments

• TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Good luck sir. We will be anxious to follow your journey!
  • JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Awesome! Good luck man. Definitely keep this thread updated if you're able to find time. I enjoy the OffSec threads tremendously.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU