Options

Smarter to go for the MCSA 2012 or 2016?

Curious what everyone's opinion is about this. With the recent changes going on in my life, I've been considering going for the MCSA, just not sure which one is the better option. I feel like there wont be very good study material for the MCSA 2016 just yet and don't care to be a guinea pig on the material that's out there. Any thoughts?

I suppose while I'm here I'll ask another question. What's a realistic timeframe to study/pass the MCSA 2012? I've heard things like one month per exam all the way to a year for all three. I figured allotting six months for all three exams would be enough. Aside from a college course back in 2014, I have little experience with Windows Servers.

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    djrabesdjrabes Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Curious what everyone's opinion is about this. With the recent changes going on in my life, I've been considering going for the MCSA, just not sure which one is the better option. I feel like there wont be very good study material for the MCSA 2016 just yet and don't care to be a guinea pig on the material that's out there. Any thoughts?

I suppose while I'm here I'll ask another question. What's a realistic timeframe to study/pass the MCSA 2012? I've heard things like one month per exam all the way to a year for all three. I figured allotting six months for all three exams would be enough. Aside from a college course back in 2014, I have little experience with Windows Servers.

Thanks

Hey. You're probably better off going for the Server 2012 MCSA and upgrade to Server 2016 when you feel its appropriate. I did my 2012 MCSA in about 8-9 months. 6 months is 100% possible if you stick with it, mine was only delayed due to Personal issues which led to a lack of will power as a result.