Options

Linux+ - Which Distro(s)

stevelsdstevelsd Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Techs!
I have a plural sight subscription. The Linux+ course might be a tad out dated by a year or so but I am not sure. The recommendation distros for the course are CentOS 7 "and" CentOS 6.5 as well as Debian 8.

Any thoughts on should i learn all 3 for the studies or ? (Debian now has version 9 out as well)

Thanks big time
Steve

Comments

• Options
    jibtechjibtech Member Posts: 424 ■■■■■□□□□□
    The course really focuses on Red Hat based, and Debian based. So long as you have that covered, you should be good.

For 103, the differences really boil down to systemd vs SysV, and the difference in packages (rpm vs deb) and the associated utilities.

Otherwise, it is pretty standard across the board. I start studying for 104 as soon as 103 is done, so if I see a big difference there, I will update.

And be prepared. The material assumes vi usage. /shudder
  • Options
    thanks for the reply!
    I have installed CentOS 7 a number of times with minimal installation and the installed desktop. Too easy.
    I am having a heck of a time trying to get a CentOS 6.5 installed from the very start. (Might be to new of a computer\video driver)

Debian 9 is getting installed right now with GUI.

Have you taken the first test yet then. It sounds like you are right around the corner for it?

Again thanks
    Steve
  • Options
    stevelsd wrote: »
    thanks for the reply!
    I have installed CentOS 7 a number of times with minimal installation and the installed desktop. Too easy.
    I am having a heck of a time trying to get a CentOS 6.5 installed from the very start. (Might be to new of a computer\video driver)

Debian 9 is getting installed right now with GUI.

Have you taken the first test yet then. It sounds like you are right around the corner for it?

Again thanks
    Steve

I take the test tomorrow morning.