How to get that 1st IT job

Mr.Robot255Mr.Robot255 Member Posts: 196 ■■■□□□□□□□
Finding it very frustrating trying to land a interview. I understand experience is vital to landing a job , but how to get experience without first getting a job.

My background is mainly construction work, i have never had a tech job ,except i am now volunteering at the local chamber of commerce for last couple months,updating their web pages (news/events/jobs etc)

I go to a job club where we can learn all about cover letters and CV formats etc , I've changed mine up several times and still getting now joy, Problem i find where i am is all the jobs seem to want min 3 years exp for junior roles if not 5 or 7 yrs. I mean in the last couple months i have applied to probably over 75 jobs without a single reply. Meaning the competition i'm up against must be vast and strong.

Where i live is kind of a problem as not many jobs in that line where i actually live but i am applying to different counties which are hubs for the IT market in ireland. One city near me has several jobs a week that peak my interest(would apply to me) but again most are looking for that critical experience i apply and just never hear from them.

A couple of large companies (cookmedical,dell,arise) to name a few always seem to have IT network roles 1st/2nd level but i never get replies, i am at the stage now where i am offering myself free to companies but there comes the next problem of not being able to get to their HR team, secretaries acting like firewalls between me an all important Telephone number or HR email address or even just a name i can head my letter/email to .

Very frustrating anyone else have similar problem or anyone with advice on what to do next?

i'm hoping once i get CCNA r&s cert that at least one job will even reply to me for an interview.

Comments

• PseudonymPseudonym Member Posts: 341 ■■■■□□□□□□