Cyber Security Training

VesaliusVesalius Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello World,

I am new to the world of Cyber Security, and I have the opportunity to work in both red and blue team environment.

I am planning on starting my studies within the field, and the subjects that I have looked at are to certify my self in Cisco's latest cyber ops program, and CEH as a starter.

Is there anything else you guys would recommend, and difficulties that may lie within the programs. I was also considering studying for A+, network+, security+ to have a better understanding for the cyber world.

Can someone recommend a nice road map for me. I have at least 4 hours of study time a day in my schedule.

Comments

• JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Hi Vesalius, first I would read through the stickies in the Security section of our forum: Security Certifications Forums.

In general, it depends highly on which area of security you want to specialize in. Security+ knowledge is always a great base to start with.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • ITSec14ITSec14 Member Posts: 398 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I say skip the A+. The Net+ material is good, but just read the book and skip the cert itself.

Security+ is a good foundation like JoJo said. I hear mixed reviews about CEH. Seems like most people get it because of HR requirements or the fact that it sounds cool. Doesn't make you a "hacker" though.
  • jibtechjibtech Member Posts: 424 ■■■■■□□□□□
    It really depends on the base layer of knowledge you are working from.

If you are still fairly new to IT in general, or could benefit from reinforcing that knowledge, I would say go ahead and knock out the A+. It really does lay a good foundation.