Rant contract jobs

ChevelChevel Member Posts: 211 ■■■□□□□□□□
Sorry I need to vent but I'm tired of contract jobs. I'm tired of the constant cycles of stress, depression and uncertainty. Started off as FT government LOVED the job, decent salary, excellent benefits, PTO. I was actually happy to get up in the morning! When the base closed I was a student ( High School) so I was not able to obtain the benefits of being transferred to a FT even though I had graduated a few months before the base closure.

From 2011 on out its been a string of dead end of contract jobs. I hate it. I try to be optimistic, positive, better myself by obtaining new certifications and learning things but its just too much. Mediocre pay, poor benefits, recruiter games not to mention being laid off twice, takes forever to find work, even when I do I still have to worry about the next year. Just recently I brought a house which I was trying to hold out for until I found something permanent but circumstances did not work out that way. Needless to say my current contract job is gone in September. I've moved up the IT ladder clinging onto hope that things would eventually get better but it hasn't. I've been studying on and off for the CISSP but I can't focus due to the stress. Then I wonder what's the point.......

Thanks for listening. If this is off topic material I apologize please feel free to move it.

Comments

• NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I feel ya. It feels like there are a lot of contract jobs in IT. I recently job interviewed at a big company that had some contract roles open. I asked if you can get hired on if you perform well, and they said they didn't know what their staffing needs will be in the future. The big bummer was this contract had no benefits.

It sounds like you have a Security background, have you tried going to your local ISSA chapter meetings?

You could network there and possibly find a full time security job.