Passed (again)

bob9383bob9383 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
I just passed. Here is the best I can do while complying with the NDA. I have not commented on any specifics, specific topics/content/domains etc... Consider this a story purely on my approach to the exam before taking it.

I previously passed the version of the test just before it changed in 2007. Ten years later it seemed more brutal but that may be partially my fault. I can offer some advice to those on the upper end of the experience scale. I have about ~25 years of overall technology experience and for security specifically somewhere north of 15 years. Some of my ten year old studying effort helped for sure.

I can't say any particular training resource was better than the others. For what I consider the "core" topics, either you know the concept or you don't. The training material will not matter. You'll know you've mastered them when reading/watching additional resources. These topics will seem like second nature. What are the core topics? I can't say but I believe you'll just know after you go through enough sample questions and training materials.

For what I call "trivia" questions where you must know the meaning of a potentially obscure term/acronym/framework or specific detail of a protocol, the official Sybex book probably covers nearly everything. Of course this means you've actually read and retained every fact in that book. That's tough to do and I did not. I believe I read almost every domain before taking the online Sybex domain-level tests that are part of the Q&A book. I did not retain everything.