How long did it take to study/ take and pass security + exam?

carlsjrcarlsjr Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
edited July 2019 in Security+
Hello I am new into security field. I've been a cyber security analyst for about 2 years and will be needing my security+ certification. Never having studied on CompTIA certs before and not much exposure to IT how long did it take any of you to study and pass the exam? Also is Cybrary IT a good site to learn? Thanks

Comments

• ScyphnScyphn Member Posts: 51 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Welcome to the forum!

Your best friend will be Security+ Get Certified Get Ahead by Darril Gibson. I'm currently using this myself and dang near everyone here swears by it
    Link: https://www.amazon.com/CompTIA-Security-Certified-Ahead-SY0-401-ebook/dp/B00NNWKN3G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1500513106&sr=8-1&keywords=security%2B
  • ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    With 2 years in the field you should be be able to study and pass in around 1 month. I did it in August of 2015.
  • max064max064 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi carlsjr,

I agree with the above posters. I got mine in 1 month (studying after hours), but did have previous knowledge in the field of Cyber Security. The only book I used was Darryl Gibson's Guide which was extremely well-written and comprehensive in nature.

I also watched a few videos from YouTube channels, Prof. Messors videos etc. to brush up on topics which interested me more or was lacking.

Cheers

Max
  • SpanSpan Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
    With 2 years of experience, a month of studying will be fine.
  • scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    4 months for me. Being dyslexic, I needed to take a class even though I had plenty of experience.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • McxRisleyMcxRisley Member Posts: 494 ■■■■■□□□□□
    It took me 1 month and I had ZERO security experience at the time. I just read the book from cover to cover once and then took the exam.