IT Security Training

paulsmithpaulsmith Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all

I am an IT Security newbie and i have been in my current role for 3 months. I have been told that there is money available for my professional development.

I currently have an active course on CBT Nuggets for Comp TIA Security +

But what other professional courses would you all recommend, the correct path? I'm confused. I hear MTA, Security + CISSP ETC....

Thanks

Comments

• ITSec14ITSec14 Member Posts: 398 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Since you are 3 months in, I would do Security+ or GSEC (if your employer will pay for it). How many years of overall IT experience do you have?

CISSP can be done too. It requires 5 years of experience in 2 or more of the domains covered in the exam, or you can get a waiver for 1 year of the required experience if you have an IT degree or a cert from the list provided on the (ISC)2 website.
  • paulsmithpaulsmith Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hello

thank you for your reply.

I have 6 years experience in IT working at 2nd Line level and in the final year was doing 3rd line stuff too.

I have a degree in Music Technology lol

Thanks
  • scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    I have a degree in food and beverage management as well. never used.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • ITSec14ITSec14 Member Posts: 398 ■■■□□□□□□□
    paulsmith wrote: »
    Hello

thank you for your reply.

I have 6 years experience in IT working at 2nd Line level and in the final year was doing 3rd line stuff too.

I have a degree in Music Technology lol

Thanks

I would pursue the Security+ first to give you an understanding of general concepts. That exam usually takes about 1-2 months to prepare for, depending on your study habits.

After that, focus on building experience then I would attempt the CISSP after you have been in your current role for 1-1/2 years. You can use the Security+ for the 1 year experience waiver too.