WGU, benefits of studying online?

pirlo21pirlo21 Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I've been in IT for 3 years already and I really like what I do. I got my associates degree this june and I'm transferring to CSUN (Cal State Northridge) for B.S in IT. However, I've been reading here a lot about WGU, which is an online university. I would like to know your experiences regarding IT.

1. How much is the tuition per semester?
2. Do the IT classes prepare you for certifications like CCNA? MCSE?
3. If I'm transferring from a community college, do I only need to complete 2 more years? Or is it different, starting all over again?

I'm really interested in this option because I'm working full time so If I attend CSUN I will basically be commuting for almost 2 hours just to attend classes after work. If this online university gives me the same opportunities I expect, then I would start attending it. Thanks.

Comments

• joshuamurphy75joshuamurphy75 Member Posts: 162 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Each term is 6 months long, so not exact semesters. Tuition is $3045 every six months. Take as many classes as you like during that time. The classes do prepare you for the certifications, and the school pays for vouchers to take them. They will accept credit transfers from regionally accredited schools, so you should be fine. I really enjoy the school, but because it is online and mostly self study, you don't have the same networking opportunities as a traditional school. You will meet people, just not as often.

Overall, my quality of education has been better than my experience at the University of Texas Pan American.

I did not like scripting and programming applications though. The class was really unorganized and I basically learned it from google searches and speaking with the professors instead of from the recommended course content.