Options

Passed the SYO - 401

Darth-VaderDarth-Vader Registered Users Posts: 8 ■■■□□□□□□□
Took my test today, passed with 784. I’m so happy I passed it at the first attempt. This is also my first ever certification exam and I have zero hands-on experience although I do have a Bachelor’s degree in computer science. All I used was Darill Gibson’s book along with practice questions on exam-compass. I only had two performance based questions and 70 in total. The exam is significantly harder than the practice questions, but as long as you know the material, you would be fine. Guys I need advice on which cert to do next for someone like me who wants to work in the infosec field

Comments

• Options
    Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats on passing the exam first and foremost!! Great job :)

To answer your question it depends on what part you want to do pentesting, network security, etc. as each one has certifications tailored to their specific skill sets and criteria. I would suggest to get you started and narrow down your scope to take a look at the following certs: CEH, CHFI, CISSP, and GCIH. There are more than these but these come off the top of my head.

You might also consider checking out the InfoSec threads on TE for more direction. Best of luck in your future goals and career!! :)
    *Associate's of Applied Sciences degree in Information Technology-Network Systems Administration
    *Bachelor's of Science: Information Technology - Security, Master's of Science: Information Technology - Management
    Matthew 6:33 - "Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need."

Certs/Business Licenses In Progress: AWS Solutions Architect, Series 6, Series 63
  • Options
    Alright I would research on them. Thanks a lot and best of luck too
  • Options
    nisti2nisti2 Member Posts: 503 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats!!
    2020 Year goals:
    Already passed: Oracle Cloud, AZ-900