Passed CISA as Grad with no experience

1Sep19691Sep1969 Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
Background: I graduated with an IS degree and have only done one year of IT-related internships.

I took the exam yesterday and passed it on my first attempt. I spent a few months reading the manual many times and researched topics I wasn't familiar with. I then did all the database questions in one shot (each domain separately) with a 75% average. Once I became familiar with the ISACA mindset and logic, I was able to boost it up to 90s and late 80s in no time. I struggled mostly with the networking concepts, which were barely covered on the exam!

This was the most intense exam I've ever done, but it felt more straightforward and easier than the database questions. Half way through, I felt that I had a good chance of passing it. Initially, I pretty stressed out, so when I first started doing the questions, I felt out of place, especially since they were different than the database ones. After a while, the ISACA thinking came back to me and I saw the questions/answers more clearly.

I flagged about 30-35 questions, but I actually felt pretty confident for the most part, strangely enough. I finished everything in three hours and then just reviewed the flagged questions (2-3 changes). My heart was pounding hard the last 10 minutes, not because I thought I would fail, but because I was just so close to switching my mind to "passed CISA" mode and was still kinda worried that maybe... I might fail. With ISACA exams, I guess you never really know.