Failed CCNP Route

JD20JD20 Member Posts: 66 ■■■□□□□□□□
Failed CCNP Route 300-101. I'm pretty frustrated and discouraged. The cert wasn't what I was expecting. The materials I used to study were:

Cisco OCG Route 300-101
Chris Bryant's CCNP Route Study Guide
Chris Bryant's CCNP Route Video Boot Camp
CBT Nuggets CCNP Route 300-101 Series
Boson Practice Tests
GNS3

I studied for 3 months before taking the certfication. I would study every weeknight for about 2 hours and about 3-4 hours on the weekends. I read OCG and Chris Bryan'ts book slowly and took detailed notes. Anytime I would come up on labs in the book, I would stop and lab them myself in GNS3. I made sure that I would go through all the "show" commands when I finished labbing a topic.

A little background on myself, I have an A.A.S. degree in Computer Networking Technologies and I currently posses my CCNA. I was able to pass the ICND2 back in December and didn't want to take to much time in between. I'm currently a Tier 1 NOC technician at a telco. I'm not a provisioner so I don't get to actually configure our equipment, but I do get a lot of exposure to complex configs which I study all the time. For example, PE and agg routers. I want to achieve my CCNP so I can move up in the company.

I guess my plan now is to take a week or two off to clear my head. I'll then find some new study material and try to hit the areas I was weak on. If anybody has any good suggestions on study tips, books/videos, or practice tests please let me know.

Edit: I forgot to mention my job paid for this cert. They will pay for any passing attempt from here on out.

Comments

• DCDDCD Member Posts: 473 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sorry to here that you failed the exam. How do you think you did on the Sim labs and what was your score?
  • Welly_59Welly_59 Member Posts: 431
    what topics did you have which you didnt think were covered in enough detail in the official study guides?
  • joshuamurphy75joshuamurphy75 Member Posts: 162 ■■■□□□□□□□