Powershell equivalent to Grep?

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi guys

take the following command:

get-process get-help full | more

Can I take this one step further and perform some grep equivalent wizardry and search for specific text within the help file? if so then please hit me up an answer.

I have tried but failed as I am getting no output

get-help get-process -full | Select-String -Pattern "auto" -CaseSensitive

Powershell wizards enlighten me :)
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What exactly are you looking to find? I dont think anything in the processes section under help will say "auto"

edit: If you're looking for services that are "auto" it would be...

Get-wmiobject win32_service | where-object {$_.Startmode -eq 'Auto'} | ft
  • ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I was just experimenting really, I am new to powershell within the help file it says Related Links

on Linux you could for example just run cat log.txt | grep related

and it would output any strings containing related within the file. Is something similar available on Powershell or am I being a idiot here i.e outputting a single string from a help file.

• jelevatedjelevated Member Posts: 139
    I don't know the exact syntax here, maybe someone else can chime in. I can take a look later if no one provides the answer.

Basically what you are looking at when you run the get-help function, its actually compiled on the fly and output to the console. Select-String will work on text/strings, but the get-help function isn't actually returning a string for you to process. It's printing the various details about the function but that doesn't make it in a format that Select-String likes, cause its not a string.

You'll need to save the console output to a variable and then work on it somehow. There may be some fancy one liners available.